So, the blog. I have officially entered. I am not entirely sure what to write here. I think that we (everyone in the program) knows already how amazing Italy is. So, I guess this is for the folks back home. We have been moderately busy, going to class every day (95% on time -- sorry for that other 5% guys), and going out to eat at nice Italian restaurants at night. Occasionally, some of us had consumed wine with our meals. This is very common in Italy and it is a custom which we should respect greatly. ... This area, Rimini, is very relaxed. It reminds me of San Diego a little bit, but with better food, a nicer atmosphere and a completely different culture. People dress casually, but in a way that seems somewhat sophisticated. We have also seen a million people on bikes -- old people, young people, people in suits, people in tee-shirts, people with their girlfriends (on a one seater...seems kinda hard to do...but hey, if you can, more power to you). There are a lot of old churches. I am not Catholic, but the churches are very nice, with amazing stained-glass windows and great art and relief sculptures and other types of sculptures. The floors are often marble. Remains of historical personages are also sometimes contained within the churches. There was one church in Firenze (Florence), the Basilica Di Santa Croce, which had the remains of Machiavelli, Dante (?), Galileo, Michelangelo and more. Leonardo Da Vinci also lived in Florence. ...So amazing. We also saw the Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore which is one of the biggest churches in the world. The beaches are nice, but the weather has not been as good as we had hoped. ... is anybody up for a mediation session trying to develop a treaty for combating climate change? ...I was told a couple times to take my hat off in the churches. ...oops. ...i guess i am just used to synagogue, where we cover our heads when we pray. ...intercultural conflict...oh, and the ladies on the trip were too sexy for church...reminds me of that song...i'm too sexy for my church...anybody know it? ...alright, this is the end of the trevor comedy, history ridiculous posting on the blog. ...i need to stop typing before i run into something or i break the computer...for those of you on the trip, you will understand this. ...peace homies.
Trevor Witt
6-17-2008
Tuesday, June 17, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment